Rutledge Files Suit Against Jonathan Funk Photography
Says, ‘Jonathan Funk Photography willfully chose to deceive and violate the trust of many Arkansans’
LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge filed a consumer-protection lawsuit today against Jonathan and Paula Funk and their company Jonathan Funk Photography for violations of the Arkansas Deceptive Trade Practices Act.
“Arkansans paying for services expect to get what they pay for,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “Companies like Jonathan Funk Photography and their owners who act dishonestly will not be tolerated in Arkansas. Jonathan Funk Photography willfully chose to deceive and violate the trust of many Arkansans, and I will continue to prosecute companies that take advantage of Arkansans’ hard-earned money.”
Jonathan Funk Photography advertised its business in many local Arkansas magazines offering photography services and professional portraits of newborns and special events. Consumers paid in full after their photography session and waited patiently for several months, never receiving the portraits Jonathan Funk Photography promised to deliver. As a result, Arkansans lost money and, more importantly, lost the memories they sought to capture.
The Attorney General’s Office discovered at least 13 affected Arkansans impacted by the Funks’ deception. Consumers report they tried to work with Funk to receive their portraits with no success. In most cases, consumers communicated with Funk up to a year attempting to retrieve their purchased portraits. Most consumers have lost more than $1,000, and some paid up to $2,000 for portraits they have not received.
Rutledge is asking the court to impose civil penalties, restitution for the affected consumers, attorneys’ fees, costs, an injunction, and other relief against Jonathan Funk Photography. Violations of the Arkansas Deceptive Trade Practices Act carry civil penalties up to $10,000 for each violation.
The lawsuit was filed in Pulaski County Circuit Court.
Arkansans can file consumer complaints with the Attorney General’s Office on ArkansasAG.gov or by calling (800) 482-8982.