News Releases

    Rutledge Calls on EPA to End Era of Overreach

    March 10, 2017

    Says, ‘I am calling on Administrator Pruitt to return the EPA to a path of cooperative federalism’

    LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge has sent a letter to her former colleague and new Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Scott Pruitt, calling for an end to the era of federal overreach that characterized the EPA’s countless regulatory actions during the Obama Administration.

    “Instead of working cooperatively with the states over the last eight years to protect the environment, the EPA has chosen to ignore the lawful role of the states or give consideration to the impact these rules would have on citizens or businesses,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “I am calling on Administrator Pruitt to return the EPA to a path of cooperative federalism. The EPA should follow the Clean Air Act and Clean Water Act and engage in transparent rulemaking that benefits the environment -- not a liberal agenda.”

    Because the EPA has chosen to ignore the clear intent of the laws passed by Congress and comments submitted in opposition to proposed rules, Rutledge has been forced to challenge the so-called Clean Power Plan, Waters of the U.S., Federal Implementation Plan for Regional Haze, Mercury and Air Toxics Standards, Startup, Shutdown and Malfunction standard changes for State Implementation Plans and the Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards.

    “From our perspective, the recent overreach by the Agency amounts to a striking departure from the Clean Air and Clean Water Acts,” the State leaders wrote. “Respectfully, we ask that you consider the steps that the Agency may take to restore the principles of cooperative federalism embodied in these important statutes.”

    Led by Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton, Rutledge is joined in the letter by the attorneys general of Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, Indiana, South Carolina, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Oklahoma, West Virginia, and Wyoming, along with the Governors of Kentucky and Mississippi.

    Contact Us
    Sign Up For Consumer Alerts