News Releases

    Rutledge Urges New Administration and Congress to Withdraw Clean Power Plan

    December 15, 2016

    LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge, along with 23 other states, sent a bi-partisan letter to Vice President-elect Mike Pence, chair of the Trump Transition Team; Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell and Speaker of the House Paul Ryan, urging the incoming administration and Congress to quickly withdraw the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) so-called Clean Power Plan.

    The states are calling on President-elect Trump to issue an executive order on day one making clear that the EPA lacked the statutory authority to adopt the rule and directing the agency to take no further steps or action to enforce it.

    “President-elect Trump has made it clear he wants to reduce the regulatory burden on all Americans,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “Along with my colleagues, I am urging the President-elect, along with Congress, to act quickly to remove one of the most sweeping environmental regulations this country has seen and one that will cause electric rates across the country to skyrocket.”

    Arkansas is part of a bipartisan coalition of 29 states and state agencies that are challenging the Clean Power Plan in the D.C. Circuit, which heard oral arguments in the case in September. In February, following a request from the coalition, the U.S. Supreme Court placed an injunction on the plan until its full legality can be determined.

    The letter, which was led by West Virginia Attorney General Patrick Morrisey, explains that the Clean Power Plan is an unlawful and unilateral attempt by the EPA to circumvent Congress and force states to shift away from fossil-fuel based electric generation and to methods preferred by the EPA and left-leaning coastal organizations.

    Along with the executive order, the states are urging the administration to take formal administrative action to withdraw the rule and related actions in court, review the existing litigation and work with Congress to consider adopting legislation to address the specific issues giving rise to the rule.

    In addition to Morrisey and Rutledge, the letter is signed by attorneys general from Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming, as well as the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality and North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality.

    Contact Us
    Sign Up For Consumer Alerts